, attached to 1995-11-22

Review by Divided_Stash

Divided_Stash [b]Cars Trucks Buses:[/b] solid opener choice [b]Wilson:[/b] creepy effects before the BLAP BLOOM part, otherwise normal [b]Run Like An Antelope:[/b] rare early placement. Super high energy version with an ultra long peak [b]Fluffhead:[/b] flawless performance [b]Uncle Pen:[/b] standard [b]Cavern:[/b] Trey lyric flub leads to an interesting section [b]Taste:[/b] average fall 1995 version with the familiar Trey solo [b]The Lizards:[/b] very nice [b]Sample In A Jar: [/b]awesome Trey [b]Sweet Adeline:[/b] acapella to end the set [b]Free:[/b] after an aborted Rift we get a better alternative, the twelfth longest jam of 1.0. After a few minutes of the normal early Free jam Trey leads them away and into type 2 territory. After a bit it sounds like it’s gonna go back into the song but they quiet down significantly and settle into a creative groove that eventually picks up with Trey on percussion again briefly before winding down again with some YEM pre-nirvana like effects from Trey and Mike, along with whistling giving it a Providence Bowie vibe. Fish adds the Bouncing Around The Room drumbeat. It grows beautifully with blissful soloing from Trey and the peak is fabulous. This has strong 7/16/2023 Carini 6-11 mins vibes. Following is a great percussion/drum segment which finally gives way to [b]Llama: [/b]raging [b]Bouncing Around The Room: [/b]Fish’s gets his wish [b]You Enjoy Myself: [/b]MIKE. Bass + Drums yay [b]Strange Design:[/b] Page closes the set [b]Poor Heart:[/b] 2nd of 3 slow versions (all in November 1995) [b]Frankenstein:[/b] one of the best closers in the catalog. Great stuff Awesome show from Chess Tour. Some treats in the first set and a 5 song second set in 1995 is spectacular. Not to mention the all time jam in it. This is a 7.5/10 show. Highlights are Antelope, Free, and YEM
, attached to 2021-10-30

Review by Divided_Stash

Divided_Stash [b]The Dogs:[/b] 43 show gap. Some chilling thrilling to start off the show. The crowd howls along (foreshadowing) [b]Ocelot:[/b] nice Trey build [b]Turtle In The Clouds:[/b] uh oh. Do we have a theme here? Some people in the crowd are audibly speculating. Trey’s solo is nice [b]Run Like An Antelope:[/b] it’s official. 2 days after getting the numbers show we’re getting an animal show. Jam starts with a bit of exploration then comes back with an awesome peak [b]Camel Walk: [/b]played well [b]Wombat:[/b] first type 2 jam of the night. Trey uses some heavy delay jedi-ish effect [b]Guyute: [/b]43 show gap. Trey singing high and some issues in the compositions, but nothing too bad [b]Big Black Furry Creature From Mars:[/b] 48 show gap. Great fun version [b]Shaggy Dog:[/b] 332 show bustout [b]Dog Faced Boy:[/b] 41 show gap [b]The Sloth:[/b] standard [b]Llama:[/b] 4.0 semi machine gun Trey [b]I Am The Walrus:[/b] 131 show bustout. Awesome loud set closer with Page working in some samples. I was lucky enough to get it at YEMSG 2023 and my ears are still recovering [b]Dogs Stole Things:[/b] 56 show gap. I kinda dig Trey’s higher singing in this version [b]Your Pet Cat:[/b] 35 show gap. Rare type 2 chilling thrilling. Some great spacey synths from Page. Feels like a Tube jam with Fish sticking with the YPC/Tube drum-beat , as they build to a fantastic peak and end the song [b]Runaway Jim:[/b] also a rare type 2 performance, with an evil tone from Trey, with Page eventually switching over too. Once again his synth work is amazing. After a bit Trey transitions the band into [b]Piper:[/b] gives off early 3.0 Piper vibes, solid type 2 jam [b]Birds Of A Feather:[/b] breaks free very quickly then comes back with a tremendous peak with a long ass note from Trey and a strange return to the song, overall really nice [b]Harpua:[/b] 130 show bustout. There it is. After 4+ years. Love the hinting and math related narration and the other guys do a good job of adding sounds [b]Bug:[/b] nice cooldown after the big boy [b]The Lizards: [/b]surrender to the flow [b]Farmhouse: [/b]wish they had saved this for the very end, but set 2 closer will do. More quiet than usual and some gorgeous playing from Trey and Page [b]Vultures: [/b]little trouble at the beginning [b]Sleeping Monkey:[/b] there you go Page [b]Possum:[/b] other than Farmhouse, best way to end this show. Awesome build and peak Well darn. Night 3 of the best 4 night run in Phish history brings us to the Farmhouse. While there are moments of trouble in compositions, it's to be expected in a show with so many rarities. And the jamming is solid as well. And not to mention the holy grail of songs to get at a show in the middle of the second set. This is a 9.5/10 show. Highlights are The Dogs, Antelope, Wombat, Walrus, Your Pet Cat, Jim, Piper, BOAF, and Harpua
, attached to 1995-10-22

Review by Divided_Stash

Divided_Stash [b]AC/DC Bag:[/b] let’s get this show on the road. Powerful version [b]My Mind’s Got A Mind Of Its Own: [/b]some lyrical struggles from Mike [b]The Sloth:[/b] standard [b]Runaway Jim:[/b] some tension in the jam which leads to a great peak [b]Weigh:[/b] 40 show gap. Rare treat [b]NICU:[/b] standard [b]Fast Enough For You:[/b] beautiful [b]It’s Ice:[/b] nice eerie jam [b]Poor Heart:[/b] Fish getting his energy out [b]Sample In A Jar:[/b] standard [b]I’m Blue I’m Lonesome: [/b]acoustic break. Afterwards we get a simpsons signal [b]Stash:[/b] great way to close the set. Stays type 1 but great tension building and peak with a unique ending [b]Golgi Apparatus:[/b] unusual second set opener [b]Possum:[/b] improvisational intro, jam starts out quiet with and builds nicely to a lasting peak [b]Catapult:[/b] sick [b]The Curtain: [/b]standard [b]Tweezer:[/b] our first taste of type 2 in this show. Early on there’s a Tweezer Reprise jam which is pretty cool. After a bit Trey briefly switches to percussion and leaves some feedback from his guitar and by now it’s gotten completely free of any hint of the Tweezer theme. This portion is very creative and fun. The intensity grows and reaches a peak, before winding down again with Fish leading a seamless transition into [b]Makisupa Policeman:[/b] dank. Pretty average ambience jam in the middle [b]Big Black Furry Creature From Mars:[/b] fun and craziness [b]Life On Mars?:[/b] standard [b]Uncle Pen:[/b] standard [b]Slave To The Traffic Light:[/b] great patient build to a glorious peak [b]Cavern:[/b] good choice to close the set [b]Sweet Adeline:[/b] acapella with some interesting antics [b]The Squirming Coil:[/b] Page closes it out with a long and gorgeous solo Solid show from the middle of the chess tour. Nice type 1 in the first set along with some less common treats, and the second set showcases one of the best and most creative jams of the tour up until this point. This is a 6.5/10 show. Highlights are Bag, Stash, Possum, Tweezer, Makisupa, and Coil
, attached to 2024-02-22

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround My Review: PHISH, THURSDAY 02/22/2024 MOON PALACE Cancun, Quintana Roo, Mexico SET 1: First Tube: Standard. > Free: Standard. Roggae: Standard. Driver: Bust out! hey stranger: Standard. Gumbo: Standard. > My Soul: Standard. Birds of a Feather: This one totally and completely blew me away. The first few minutes of the jam are all happy and blissy. I thought, ok here we go again – same old Phish. Once that starts to wind down and then Trey hits upon the original theme of the song around 9:25 – it seems like they are going to wrap it up. No sir. They take it down this psychedelic wormhole. Tons of effects in here. Intense! By the late 14’s they sort of emerge from this and Trey touches on the original theme again. Ok, so this is it? Nope! This new sections starts off funky enough but after some time ramps into quite the power jam. I love that they ended this one properly and did not segue into something else. This version is an easy all timer and highly recommended!!! Axilla (Part II) – This one gets that psychedelic craziness with tons of effects like that one section in BOAF. Super intense. I love this! Dark and evil along with a bunch of Shipwreck samples. Definitely not for the faint of heart. Big fan of this, easy all timer and highly recommended. SET 2: A Song I Heard the Ocean Sing: Like BOAF, this jam starts off in major mode – but that only lasts for about three minutes. From there this one is awash in effects and gets quite intense. Trey lays back for a good couple of minutes towards the end and Page puts together some nasty leads. Overall, this is a super consistent jam. Great way to open the set. Would recommend. > A Wave of Hope: It takes a good, long while but eventually (14:30) you will find this one get dark and evil with lots of heavy, sinister effects. Very intense. Love the repeating riff that Trey hooks onto around 22:40, and eventually turns it into a theme that everyone else follows and plays along to. Brilliant stuff this deep into this jam. From approximately 25 minutes through the end – most of this just reminds me of the old days. Just a breezy, easy and chill wind down. It’s just beautiful. This jam is an easy all timer and highly recommended. > Oblivion: Love how they managed to segue into this, it’s great. They continue with the dark and evil theme here in this jam. Nice and compact jam here. It does return to the lyrics and then into Tweezer > Tweezer: By the 12 and a half minute mark they have managed to transport us into a deep hose jam that got there organically. Very good stuff and they bring it back to original ending, love love love that they are doing this more often. Would recommend. > Tube: -> Runaway Jim > Tube: Woah, never saw that Jim coming – cool segue and transition. This is a short jam. They do bring it to its original ending but then deftly segue it somehow back into Tube. Very cool and creative this deep into set two. They easily could have given us some crap here but instead we get this – love it! ENCORE: Bug: Standard. > Tweezer Reprise: Standard. Summary: Absolutely awesome show, I love it. Two all timers. They really delivered the goods. More than happy to give this a 4.5 out of 5. It’s that good. Replay Value: Birds of a Feather, Axilla (Part II), A Song I Heard the Ocean Sing, A Wave of Hope, Tweezer Driver was performed for the first time since July 30, 2021 (131 shows). Shipwreck was quoted in Axilla (Part II) SHOW RATING Ratings are currently offline. Overall: 5/5 (
, attached to 2019-06-29

Review by Divided_Stash

Divided_Stash [b]Mike’s Song:[/b] great way to start the show. Lots of energy [b]I Am Hydrogen:[/b] nice [b]Weekapaug Groove:[/b] stays type 1 but like Mike’s this is high energy [b]Divided Sky:[/b] love Trey’s tone here. Stunning performance [b]Everything’s Right:[/b] doesn’t completely break free but has a good patient build [b]Guelah Papyrus:[/b] 39 gap. Mike and Trey get their dance on [b]Sparkle:[/b] standard [b]Roggae:[/b] fantastic interplay in the jam [b]46 Days:[/b] awesome set closer. Page clav and Mike action + heavy Trey early on, afterwards giving way to a spectacular and blissful peak and back into the song. Great stuff [b]Blaze On:[/b] getting the second set started with the first type 2 jam of the night. They find a nice groove and tease NICU before actually going into it [b]NICU:[/b] LEO LEO LEO LEO LEO [b]Golden Age: [/b]first cover and another type 2 excursion. Trey and Page playing around with a bunch of effects before the jam sorta falls apart and Trey decides on [b]Ruby Waves:[/b] the “new” TAB 2008 classic from Ghosts Of The Forest. And this version solidifies its place as one of Phish’s best new jam vehicles. It flows along through many different effects, themes and patterns before growing more evil and finding [b]Death Don’t Hurt Very Long:[/b] sick evil song from Kasvot that comes appropriately from the Ruby jam [b]Rift:[/b] small oldie break from the newer evil second set antics [b]Beneath A Sea Of Stars Part 1: [/b]debut. Another GOTF song. Perfect second set cooldown. Trey’s ambience at the end is so frickin gorgeous and Mike drills along creating a passage into an even more beautiful song [b]Waiting All Night:[/b] love it [b]Ghost:[/b] we get a bit more type 2 late in the set [b]Say It To Me SANTOS:[/b] this is the ultimate closer [b]You Enjoy Myself: [/b]Page using some Chilling Thrilling and Kasvot samples during the lyrics section. BASS+DRUMS FOR LIFE the only part of any Phish show I dance to at home [b]Grind:[/b] days Fun show in the middle of the 3 night run in Camden. First set starts tremendously and has some more rare treats. Some old 1.0 pholks might complain about the song choice later on but in my opinion in this situation it’s a great display that they can throw in a bunch of new songs and still create an amazingly structured and flowy set. The jamming is good and creative, but also downright evil at some points. This is a 7.5/10 show. Highlights are Divided, 46 Days, Blaze On, Golden Age, Ruby Waves, BASOSP1, Ghost, and YEM of course
, attached to 2021-10-31

Review by IHaileSelassie2

IHaileSelassie2 During their 2021 Halloween run, Phish debuted the concept-setlist ‘Get More Down’ under the alter-ego Sci-Fi Soldier. The album version of ‘Get More Down’ was released the following Halloween in 2022. Trey Anastasio - Green - Clueless Wallob - “Bathe in the light of my third eye!” Mike Gordon - Yellow - Half-Nelson - “You should see my shoes!” Jon Fishman - Red - Paulie Roots - “It’s getting harder to keep time steady!” Page McConnell - Blue - Pat Malone - “Now is time on Sci-Fi Soldier when we dance!” Notably Phish’s 2021 Halloween set was paired with a comic book that was given out to attendees before the show that tells the mysterious backstory of Sci-Fi Soldier, or rather the “Sci-Fi soldiers”, four futuristic superheroes from another planet who must travel to Earth in order to save the planet from a great disaster known as The Howling, but beforehand they must summon the Nine Cubes, their means of traveling to the Earth, and they aim their spaceship The Arrow directly at the Cube with an image representing a giant wave stretching over one of the 9 Cubes, which the sci-fi soldiers use, as visualized by floating cubes in space, to “see the Earth”, and afterwards realize that the Earth has been afflicted by a great apocalyptic disaster, implied to be the result of mankind’s own destructive impulses (“…forces of the humans’ own making”). In the beginning of the comic book, the sci-fi soldiers destroy the giant moss piglet, splitting it into many smaller tardigrades, which it is said “will enhance our mental projection powers”, they then take the The Arrow to their home planet New Miami, bringing the tardigrades on board the spaceship with them, and then after landing on New Miami, bringing them (due to the tardigrades being able to “enhance” the sci-fi soldiers’ “mental projection powers”), to the Floating Aerial Neuro Technology Orientation Station (F.A.N.T.O.S.), where the first reference to the prophets, Phish themselves as Kasvot Vaxt, but some of the history of the band is lost in time and not known exactly to the sci-fi soldiers who see Kasvot Vaxt (which is really Phish) as prophets. At the end they combine bodies with Phish, and the comic ends with Page McConnell dressed as Pat Malone saying “Time to save a planet”, and of course the band members are dressed as the sci-fi soldiers with instruments. But before they arrive on planet Earth in order to save it, the sci-fi soldiers must visit “the great oracle known as Holy Blankenstein” on planet New Chicago, as he was “the only entity wise enough to interpret what we’ve seen here”, which refers to the image in one of the Nine Cubes of The Howling, and they immediately travel to New Chicago to see Holy Blankenstein before traveling to Earth to save it from The Howling. When the sci-fi soldiers first arrive on New Chicago, they are greeted by creatures who have an eye for a head and whose brains are on their knees (as an old lyric of mine went, “I’ve been walking so long I have brains on my feet”) and the sci-fi soldiers must drink a “Pressed, fermented…mind-expanding liquid [that] is harvested from the creatures themselves.” out of donut shaped cups, which gives them the ability to see the oracle Holy Blankenstein, who is “Both being and not being” and appears as a luminous outline of a human being, when at Holy Blankenstein’s command of “Un-head the knee!”, the creatures “begin to move, shake, flip and gyrate”. After Pat Malone asks Holy Blankenstein, “What does it mean, “Un-head the knee?””, Holy Blankenstein states that from out of one of the Nine Cubes, “These creatures keep their brains in their knees. They clear their minds with the movement of dance and handstands in grand fashion. We can learn much from them. Clear your mind.”. Then, Holy Blankenstein informs the sci-fi soldiers that now that they travel along Knuckle Bone Broth Avenue through outer space in order to reach the correct time on Earth, since the time that they showed up at was “many centuries” after The Howling. After their meeting with Holy Blankenstein on planet New Chicago, they decide to travel on The Arrow through the Nine Cubes to travel to 10/31/21, the date of the Phish show, and when they find themselves back on The Arrow, with Paulie Roots (Jon Fishman) thinking that 10/31/21 was a complicated time signature, and Clueless Wallob (Trey Anastasio) makes a reference to the Phish song “Julius” by correcting him saying that 10/31/21 was “Likely an inflection point. A moment when the past and the future are precisely divided.”. While back on The Arrow, Paulie Roots (Jon Fishman) pulls out the Pocket Operated Neuro Technology Orientation Station (or the P.O.N.T.O.S.) as an alternative to the F.A.N.T.O.S., as a way to, with the help of the tardigrades, “open the way to Earth”. As the sci-fi soldiers are confused about the identity of Kasvot Vaxt, the prophets, who were “long gone from Earth by 10/31/21…But there is a connection. It seems these men know how to play the music of the prophets.”, of course a reference to Phish themselves who played the show on 10/31/21 in order to supposedly save planet Earth from destruction. “They don’t look like heroes” one of the sci-fi soldiers says, to which another responds “They’ll have to do.” while looking at an old picture of Phish from the 1980s. Then, as the comic is wrapping up, there is a reference to the Rescue Squad incident during the 12/31/19 “Send in the Clones”, where Pat Malone says “Looks like they’ve been cloned before, but something went wrong”, and in reference to the raised platforms at the show, one of which got stuck with Trey Anastasio on it, with Clueless Wallob saying “Unfortunate platform.” The comic then ends with the band flying The Arrow through one of the Nine Cubes, aiming their spaceship at one of the Nine Cubes displaying an image of The Howling, but the band (now as Phish) arrives exactly 50 years before (perhaps to keep the apocalypse in close range for Halloween) the beginning of The Howling, after riding along Knuckle Bone Broth Avenue, and the comic ends with the band dressed as the sci-fi soldiers, with their instruments, and ready to play the show. Phish’s 2021 Halloween show, playing ‘Get More Down’ as the alter-ego Sci-Fi Soldier, continued a newer, more flexible Halloween tradition compared to their previous tradition of performing musical costumes, such as The Beatles ‘The White Album’ in 1994, The Who’s ‘Quadrophenia’ in 1995, Talking Heads’ ‘Remain In Light’ in 1996, The Velvet Underground’s ‘Loaded’ in 1998, The Rolling Stones’ ‘Exile on Main St.’ in 2009, and Little Feat’s ‘Waiting For Columbus’ in 2010, and in 2013 Phish played a whole set of their upcoming studio release ‘Fuego’, though at the time it was introduced to the audience as ‘Wingsuit’, and the following year in 2014 Phish played another concept-setlist with audio samples from Disney’s ‘Chilling, Thrilling Sounds of the Haunted House’. In 2018, Phish “covered” a fictional album by their alter-ego Scandinavian progressive rock band Kasvot Vaxt, which features in the Halloween 2021 Sci-Fi Soldier comic book, as the sci-fi soldiers think that Kasvot Vaxt (with the album i Rokk) are prophets and that Phish just knew how to play their music. At the Phish show that night of Halloween 2021, in addition to giving out the Sci-Fi Soldier comic book to all attendees of the show, which followed the story told above, the band played this concept-setlist ‘Get More Down’ under their alter-ego Sci-Fi Soldier. How does the music of ‘Get More Down’ relate to and help tell the story of Sci-Fi Soldier? First of all, they appear to mimic a futuristic synth-heavy style with the concept-setlist sounding like a futuristic blend of funk and progressive rock jamming. Second, the references to the comic book, despite the theatrics that were going on on stage with the band dressed as Sci-Fi Soldier, the band are really open to any amount of interpretation on how they tell the story. For one, the concept-setlist is really what is the result or ending of the corresponding comic book, and when the sci-fi soldiers land on Earth as the members of Phish - “And it looks like we’ve melded mind and body with the Earth-men.” - or the band Phish themselves, as they descend out of The Arrow to play a concert; and the corresponding ‘Get More Down’ concept-setlist is the show that they played. But how does the band tell the story and how is this storyline employed in the jam-opera? Well, honestly it seems that there is a running joke or something involved crazy or horrible family situations, from “Thanksgiving” where they sing “It’s a shame about the blood”, to the first song of the concept-set “Knuckle Bone Broth Avenue” with Mike Gordon (as Half-Nelson) singing “All but nothing is changing, Even though she’s my ex-wife”, to being “stuck in the waiting room” in “Something Living Here”, to themes about feeling guilty about stealing something in “Egg In A Hole” with the lyric “And bring back the thing that I stole, the memory haunts me, it’s stuck in my head…like egg in a hole…stuck in my head…like egg in a hole” in a Carini-like progressing jam-sequence, only to find out that “Like egg in hole…it’s a stolen phrase.”; oh so it’s a lyric about someone stealing a phrase? Or is this metaphorical egg in a hole, as either Deleuze and Guattari’s body without organs, or as the Hungarian flag after the reactionary Hungarian revolution with the hammer-and-sickle cut out of the national flag, or does this “egg in a hole” (it’s a stolen phrase - but is this Egg in a Hole completely an original phrase? Did a friend of Phish’s make it up? Or does it mean to represent the boundlessness of spacetime perhaps in Sci-Fi Soldier or something too? The Carini-like jam is just too catchy…Like egg in a hole…but, it’s a stolen phrase, haha. And Jon Fishman in one piece of classic Phish banter claims that outer space is his favorite topic. The futuristic synth-heavy sound continues throughout the concept-set. The title track, and the second song on the album, “Get More Down”, has Jon Fishman as Paulie Roots randomly saying “It’s our album, here’s how it goes”, and then going into a jazz breakdown with progressing chords following it, a drum breakdown, and then back to progressing chords and the band repeatedly singing “Get more down”. The synth sound on “Get More Down” is gritty-sounding, the vocal samples are weird, and the band references “I don’t need a lantern in the dark energy” assumably to the moss piglets who are in the beginning of the comic expanding time with dark energy and have to be stopped, until the moss piglet is broken into many smaller tardigrades and the organisms assist the sci-fi soldiers, as they “will enhance our mental projection powers”, the comic reads. “Clear Your Mind” continues with a comical (I always used to laugh in joy while listening to this track) but catchy jam vibe, with Trey Anastasio as Clueless Wallob singing, “handstands in grand fashion, Holy Blankenstein!, clear your mind”. And this is just so catchy, it was originally my favorite track on the jam-opera, and I used to listen to it all the time - “Sure could use this treatment, asshole to the core, burn burn burn, clear your mind”. And then a reference to Knuckle Bone Broth Avenue, “Donuts touching turtles”. Is this an offhanded reference to “Turtle In The Clouds” as well with the “Clueless Wallob” refrain? Did they take the name from Kasvot Vaxt as inspiration and plan to use the name later? And how did it become Trey’s alter-ego specifically? when the band performed the Kasvot Vaxt concept-set in all white as a fictional Scandinavian rock band, “Turtle in the clouds?”, Like outer space?, on the other hand, they dressed up like the characters from the Sci-Fi Soldier comic book in futuristic each-uniquely-designed spacesuits. Otherwise, “Don’t Doubt Me” makes reference to the creatures who harvest the liquid that allows the sci-fi soldiers to see the oracle Holy Blankenstein, with “un-head the knee”, and the refrain from “Clear Your Mind”…”genuine asshole” and “handstands in grand fashion”…and the lyric “Left an impression in my, my third eye”. “The Howling” is also an impressive track and has a Pink Floyd-esque space funk sound.
, attached to 2015-07-25

Review by Divided_Stash

Divided_Stash [b]Martian Monster:[/b] great opener. While staying type 1 there is some fun experimentation going on [b]Down With Disease:[/b] never fully breaks off but still a great build and peak [b]Waiting All Night:[/b] pretty song [b]Heavy Things:[/b] both Page and Trey get a solo. Well done [b]Axilla:[/b] standard [b]555: [/b]Mike’s turn [b]Limb By Limb:[/b] follow the yellow brick road tease from Trey. Otherwise pretty normal [b]Ya Mar:[/b] standard [b]Fuego:[/b] nice peak, afterwards goes type 2 with Mike on the drill and Page leading a perfect transition into [b]Walls Of The Cave:[/b] raging closer to end the first set [b]No Men In No Man’s Land: [/b]early version with a sick first jam before getting out there again with some hot Mike and clav action. After a while it gets dissonant and Trey starts [b]Carini: [/b]a brief type 2 excursion that gives joyful vibes before Trey ripchords in favor of [b]Tweezer:[/b] nice mid set performance with immediate type 2 exploration out of the gate and Fish does nothing for a minute while the other 3 play around and when he comes back in it’s great and heavy for a minute before Trey once again ripchords. But don’t let the length fool you, this does a lot in a very short time [b]My Friend My Friend:[/b] played well and a little extra on the end [b]Roggae:[/b] beauty [b]Backwards Down The Number Line:[/b] I hate to be that guy but this placement is kind of a mood killer. This is a solid version though [b]Slave To The Traffic Light:[/b] epic closer. Patience is key and they nail it [b]You Enjoy Myself:[/b] very fun. Trey and Mike guitar bromance and my beloved bass+drums has Trey joining Fish. Awesome way to close the show Solid night early on in the 2015 summer tour. Relatively standard first set with Fuego adding some nice jamming and the second set through Roggae is fantastic. Jamming in the second set is very good but cut short a couple too many times by Trey, but it’s not too big of a deal. This is a 7.5/10 show. Highlights are Martian Monster, Fuego, NMINML, Carini, Tweezer, Roggae, and YEM
, attached to 2022-08-12

Review by Thephats

Thephats Listening to this show now, and it’s grossly underrated per usual. It’s an amazing breakout set 1 to catapult everyone on this alpine 3 night run. Blessed to have been here. The energy was electric. Phish in Wisconsin in the Summer equals a fucking great time. See you all there this Summer. Going to be awesome for everyone attending . Saving money to attend DC and Grand Rapids too. Maybe squeeze in St Louis while I’m at it. Happy Phishing everyone
, attached to 1991-03-09

Review by thelot

thelot Not the best audience recording. It’s hard to tell if it’s just poor recording equipment or bad acoustics. Lots of cuts and tape warble throughout the first set. Things start off on a slow note with Carolina. Not sure if that was the best choice as it seems like most of the people in attendance were there to booze up and socialize. Pretty straightforward versions of Landlady>YEM follow. Nice Foam. Divided Sky cuts out during a good chunk of the jam. The beginning of Cavern is cropped. Reba cuts towards the end of the jam and comes back in during the final coda. Strong Possum to close set 1 with a DEG tease giving a nod to last nights amazing Tweezer. The beginning of Oh Kee Pa is cut to start set 2. Solid Buried Alive. Enjoyable mid set Bowie. The beginning of Lizards is cut due to a tape flip. Rippin’ Fire to close out the second half. Double encore with a smokin’ GXBX to close the show.
, attached to 2003-12-28

Review by Divided_Stash

Divided_Stash [b]David Bowie:[/b] love this as an opener. The intro is great and the jam actually gets very exploratory for a while (type 1.5?) but returns for the usual peak and ending [b]Sample In A Jar:[/b] great Trey [b] Tweezer:[/b] early entering of the freezer. Awesome build and peak before breaking free into mellow type 2 territory. [b]Bouncing Around The Room:[/b] standard [b]AC/DC Bag:[/b] solid version with another good peak [b]Frankie Says:[/b] I love this song. Extended outro leads to an unexpected beautiful type 2 journey that builds then settles down before Fish starts [b]Llama:[/b] sick extended performance [b]Hold Your Head Up:[/b] standard [b]Love You:[/b] Henrietta! Doesn’t know the words [b]Hold Your Head Up:[/b] standard [b]Tweezer Reprise: [/b]unusual placement to close set one [b]Gotta Jibboo: [/b]second set starts with a fantastic Jibboo take on the type 1 build and peak [b]Suzy Greenburg:[/b] rare type 2 version. First few minutes give major 1997 cow funk vibes. After the next verse Trey launches the band into immediate heavy exploration. Sort of like a Mike’s Song style first and second jam. Eventually it gets quiet with nice Page synthing in the background to add spaciness and Mike adds some Bass and it starts to grow. Trey teases Lizards. Masterpiece [b]Theme From The Bottom:[/b] pretty average [b]Water In The Sky: [/b]cool little mid set cool off with the Everglades line getting a crowd roar [b]Friday:[/b] still don’t get why this song was shelved. Placement could be better but good song [b]Harry Hood:[/b] hot mike action in the intro. Starts to feel like its gonna break free for a minute but soon gets back in for the gorgeous peak and finishing of the set [b]Sleeping Monkey:[/b] standard [b]Loving Cup:[/b] rager to close out the show This is a very solid show to start the Miami NYE run. This first set has some amazing moments of exploration and energy, and the same in the second. The jamming in both sets is spectacular, but the Suzy is freaking glorious. This is a 8.5/10 show. Highlights are Bowie, Tweezer, Frankie, Suzy, and Hood
, attached to 1995-12-09

Review by Divided_Stash

Divided_Stash [b]Maze:[/b] I love what Trey does with the note bending at the start of his section; it gives a creepy vibe. This might be my all time favorite version. Great way to start the show [b]Theme From The Bottom:[/b] these guys are locked in. The one two punch is performed flawlessly and this Theme is the perfect length [b]NICU: [/b]standard [b]The Sloth:[/b] standard [b] Rift:[/b] lightning fast. No flubs (aka 1995) [b]Bouncing Around The Room:[/b] standard [b]Free:[/b] I love these 1995-1996 Frees. The jedi/percussion Trey jam is sick [b]Billy Breathes:[/b] gorgeous [b]Dog Faced Boy:[/b] lil calm before the storm [b]Chalk Dust Torture:[/b] some high energy raging to end the first set (storm) [b]Timber:[/b] exploratory but type 1 version to start the second set [b]Wilson:[/b] some samples in the intro I don’t recognize, otherwise average [b]Gumbo:[/b] nice jam before Page’s solo [b]You Enjoy Myself:[/b] woah. After the tramps Trey starts playing around and we’re type 2. Later on Trey switches to percussion and we get some Mike action. There’s a funk section with great Page, and it gets very quiet, then powers back up into normal YEM territory > vocal jam. Beast. No bass+drums so I am sad. [b]Lawn Boy:[/b] cool little treat [b]Slave To The Traffic Light: [/b]magnificent build. Great version [b]Crossroads: [/b]Trey’s voice is messed up but it's all good. Love this cover [b]Sweet Adeline:[/b] little acapella to end the set [b]Loving Cup:[/b] nice closer, with Page and Trey standing out Solid show at the back end of the last mega Phish tour. The one two punch to start is awesome and they nail some compositions and the jam in YEM is spectacular and even a hint of cow funk to come in 1997. This is an 8/10 show. Highlights are Maze, Theme, YEM, and Slavel.
, attached to 2024-02-23

Review by mattybweston

mattybweston Hmmm - Four full days later and still no review for this seminal night. Maybe that's because @laudanum and @scissortail summed it up nicely in the blog reviews for Nights 3 & 4. This show/seismic event found itself worthy of discussion the next night by Trey himself in the lyrics to Chalk Dust Torture Reprise. And why not? The first set is loosey goosey yet still finds moments to dive into the effects laden jamming that will undoubtedly define this run and possibly the next year or more. 46 Days briefly divebombs into it but pulls up, KDF leans in hard for the last five minutes or so. Perhaps a harbinger for what is lurking after setbreak. And eleven minutes into the Blaze On opener it feels like 2024 Evil Phish has arrived again - only to be ripchorded (ripriffed?) for CDT. And it is a glorious, multi-sectional CDT even BEFORE the earth opens up and swallows it at minute 22ish. Waves and waves of thick effects, pitch divebombs, growling rumble, synth corkscrews and tom rolling, cymbal crashing madness. And then.... well, if the video is still up, at 28:38 we reach sublime chaos at its apex and an inexplicable moment of musical hive mind. Trey mashes his expression pedal and what many folks have described as the "bubble effect" explodes into the Mexican night. It is out of left field, overbearing, and could have devolved the jam into ambient weirdness, but everyone adjusts - Trey starts a call/response with the effect, Fish finds the rhythm and mimics it with his China cymbal. It just shouldn't work, but of course it does, and it elevates the jam and sends it racing to a massive peak of power chording. At 30:00 in the video we humble viewers are presented with incontrovertible evidence that this new noise rock movement is here to stay - Trey's maniacal smile as he leans into that expression pedal over and over, bobbing his head, eyes cast to the floor. The rest of the show? It was good/great Phishing - Hood has an excellent bliss peak and Zero never disappoints. It looks like 2024 will be another titanic shift for the band - think '97 more groove/less peak meets the highlights of the oxy years ('04 SPAC Piper comes to mind) meets an expert command of a new cache of effects from both Trey and Page. I can't wait to see what CK5 can do with this new direction with the mother grid and his full lighting rig.
, attached to 1999-09-11

Review by Divided_Stash

Divided_Stash [b]Tube:[/b] good choice for opener. Pretty short for this era but still fun [b]Funky Bitch:[/b] slow tempo raging [b]Limb By Limb:[/b] solid [b]Dogs Stole Things:[/b] standard [b]Punch You In The Eye:[/b] big ol intro with extra plunking from Trey [b]Billy Breathes:[/b] beautiful Trey solo [b]Heavy Things: [/b]debut [b]Guyute:[/b] flawless [b]Free:[/b] unusual set closer. Trey gets real heavy on this one [b]Wolfman’s Brother:[/b] first type 2 jam of the show to start the second set. Lots of cowbell from Fish. Things get spacey and dissonant and after a while they start up [b]Sand:[/b] debut. Nothing too special as Fish and Mike do the same exact thing for 18 minutes straight, but the peak is nice [b]Meatstick:[/b] unlike Sand, this gets type 2. But we quickly get a perfect transition into [b]Maze:[/b] fantastic version with Page’s section getting a lot of fun action [b]Prince Caspian:[/b] pretty and extended intro [b]Harry Hood:[/b] really awesome performance with the peak lasting a long time. Great set closer [b]When The Circus Comes:[/b] I have nothing against this song but it’s a disappointing one and done encore situation here Really solid night 2 at the Gorge. A couple notable debuts and the jamming in Wolfman’s and Meatstick is good, but leaves me wanting more. But the second set is a fantastic one if you aren’t looking for a lot of type 2. This is a 7.5/10 show. Highlights are Free and the entire second set
, attached to 1998-11-25

Review by Divided_Stash

Divided_Stash [b]Punch You In The Eye:[/b] great opener [b]My Soul:[/b] raging [b]Roggae:[/b] beautiful jam [b]AC/DC Bag:[/b] stays type 1 but the peak is tremendous. Very good version [b]Lifeboy:[/b] nicely placed cooldown after the Bag peak [b]David Bowie:[/b] super creepy long intro. Stays along the normal Bowie build for a while then gets exploratory before finding the usual ending [b]Sleep:[/b] Trey on acoustic guitar [b]Driver:[/b] acoustically standard [b]Good Times Bad Times:[/b] fantastic cover to close the first set. Extra juice on this one [b]2001:[/b] ultra space alien intro and the dance party begins. Awesome version [b]Golgi Apparatus:[/b] strange placement [b]Drowned:[/b] first type 2 jam of the night. Gets quiet and after a couple minutes Trey leads into [b]Prince Caspian:[/b] stays type 1 but some great Trey shredding [b]Piper:[/b] unfortunately coda ending [b]You Enjoy Myself:[/b] great funk that leads right into the vocal jam. No bass+drums means I'm sad. Vocal jam is nice though [b]Been Caught Stealing:[/b] love this cover. Tramps again [b]Llama:[/b] rare closer. Trey going off here [b]Something:[/b] the last time this was played. Shame [b]Guyute:[/b] played perfectly [b]Free Bird:[/b] yes Solid show but not one of the best from Fall 1998. Only type 2 jam is the last couple minutes of Drowned but other than that it’s pretty bleak. This is a 6.5/10 show. Highlights are Bowie, GTBT, 2001, Drowned, and YEM
, attached to 2024-02-22

Review by andrewrose

andrewrose If this show is any harbinger of things to come in 2024, look out below. If you're anything like me, you're still trying to figure out how Phish managed to sound as good as they did in 2021, and have spent the last couple years chasing those highs, to mixed results. Some incredible moments peppered 22-23 no doubt, but a lot of tricks and tropes that were starting to feel pretty familiar and homogenous. Was the band distracted by the lead up to the big Gamehendge show? Was it just the ebb and flow of improvisation, putting on big shows, the toll of touring, and getting on in age? How long can they keep this up? Well I don't know the answer to that question, but this show, the first two set affair of 2024 following Gamehendge, certainly makes it feel like a stupid question to be worrying about. From Birds through Bug this is band that sounds rested, revived, and ready to dig deeper. Centering it is a 35 minute Wave of Hope that immediately puts all the big long jams of recent years on notice. I'm not one that typically gets seduced by a long run time. In fact I've tended to find a lot of them meandering and uninteresting for long stretches. (Give me the flawless and engaging 18 minute 4/23/23 Cities over the bloated 30 minuted Fuego from 7/29/23 any day.) This isn't one of those. It's engaging from the outset and weaves through various themes effortlessly, never lingering too long, and showcasing each member at their best. While the jam has numerous highlights, I'd argue it's the stretch around the 23-24 minute mark (coming out of a this crunchy noise rock that @MattBWeston has rightly highlighted in his review as an important hallmark of this emerging era). Some on the forum have been referring to it as the 'So What' section for the brief counterpoint of notes Trey hangs on as he weaves the theme here. I'm not sure how apropos that is—it's a stretch. But the jam segment and Trey's run of licks here is not. This does not sound like a man about to turn 60 in September. He sounds more like the guy who destroyed the Grey Hall in Copenhagen in 1998, and the Warfield in April 99 with Phil and Friends. The almost reggae-like atmospheric denouement of the jam must have felt pretty sweet indeed on the beach in Mexico. Gorgeous soulful notes to close it out and land in what may the band's grooviest offering of Oblivion to date. It may not be the most exploratory or long version they've done, but if you want another sign that the band is feeling fresh and inspired, hear what Page has to say about what 'awaits.' Page's reemergence in the sound here may be the most promising development on display. Here we're getting echoes of what made 2021 such an incredibly strong year—with Page engaged and challenging for space the whole sound just blows open. Mike and Fish can stretch and punctuate and groove with more ease. Easy oblivion. There's plenty to chew on on either side of this centerpiece. The 15 minute Tweezer is no slouch by any stretch, pulling together a lot of the better moves from '23 but condensed into a much more efficient and engaging vehicle, again with inspired licks and lines. It's telling how good a show this is that it may not be the first or even third jam mentioned here. How about that 20 minute Birds in the first set? Fresh, gnarly and noisy. (The only knock here maybe the forced reentry to the Birds theme to close.) Axilla gets it first extended treatment since April 22, this one a perfect showpiece for the noisy satanic set closer they've been enjoying unleashing lately. And while it may not have insane replay value, I don't think anyone is going to complain about a 4th quarter Tube->Jim->Tube. Bug is a beautiful closer to a beautiful performance here, and a nice counterpoint to an absolutely ripping Roggae in the first set that I'd be remiss to not mention, given the DNA the songs seem share. So what's the verdict, is this show a sign of things to come in 2024, another rebirth that makes it easy not to think about the past? It doesn't matter!
, attached to 1991-03-08

Review by thelot

thelot Decent audience recording. Not too far off from the master. Things kick off with Golgi. They follow this up with a fantastic version of YEM. This version has one of the wildest vocal jams to date. “STOP IT!!” lol This pairs perfectly with Fluffhead. Inspired playing from Trey during Stash. Inspired Suzy with Stairway to Heaven and Auld Lang Syne teases. Solid Split Open. Coil has a pretty little outro. At the start of MSO the band invites some members of ARU to the stage. Jimmy Herring adds some fire runs to MSO. Tweezer is freakin’ siiick!!! Full on DEG tease during this demented jam! A wild BBFCFM follows suit. Unfortunately, the tape cuts about 2 minutes in. :( The rest of the show is lost to Phishtory… Thank goodness somebody taped this little gem! Thank you mystery taper!
, attached to 2012-08-28

Review by Divided_Stash

Divided_Stash [b]Punch You In The Eye:[/b] fantastic opener choice. Fish has a little trouble early but otherwise pretty solid [b]Runaway Jim:[/b] pretty average [b]Ocelot:[/b] weird choice as they had just played this at the show before, but great soloing from Trey here [b]Reba:[/b] some minor hiccups in the compositions but the jam is gorgeous as always [b]I Didn’t Know: [/b]John Sullen Melancholy folks [b]The Curtain:[/b] how dare they. Curtain With is my favorite Phish song and they rob me of it. Shame, but to be fair the jam is highly similar to Reba so I understand holding off [b]Peaches En Regalia:[/b] good substitute for with, I love this cover [b]Mound:[/b] standard [b]Sample In A Jar: [/b]standard goods [b]The Sloth:[/b] nice treat. After experiencing the gamehendge 2023 version in person I always picture the Sloth walking sloooowly across the stage. Hilarious [b]Camel Walk:[/b] mixing in some funk. Love it [b]Possum:[/b] quick but powerful version [b]Quinn The Eskimo:[/b] another all time cover to end the first set [b]Chalk Dust Torture:[/b] starts the second set with the usual fiery Trey solo, but instead of ending the song they take it out into a cool mellow type 2 jam with Fish keeping a Frankie Says like groove in the background [b]Frankie Says:[/b] speak of the devil. I really enjoy this song as a mid second set cooldown. 70 show gap. Mike action and the start of an exploratory jam but before too much can happen Trey finds [b]Undermind:[/b] the last performance before the historic Dicks version. More Mike greatness and similar to Frankie gets out there at the end but after teasing it for a while in comes [b]Sand:[/b] type 1 rendition that goes into Walk Away right from the coda ending [b]Walk Away:[/b] awesome Trey in this mid set rager [b]Limb By Limb:[/b] as the jam starts Trey lets out some beautiful whale calls and we’re type 2 which is extremely rare for this song. Trey quickens the tempo after a while and the jam morphs into a more upbeat groove that grows to a spectacular peak and dips back into the typical Limb By Limb ending. Really intelligent and creative stuff here [b]Julius:[/b] another great Trey solo [b]2001:[/b] after a spacey outro in Julius, Fish starts the dance party. Pretty short with not much to talk about, but always welcome [b]You Enjoy Myself:[/b] played flawlessly and I am still bass+drums biggest fan [b]Shine A Light:[/b] nice cover to close out the show Solid indoor night from one of the most important tours of Phish’s career. The jamming in CDT and Limb By Limb is really great and there’s some fun treats in the first set. This is a 6/10 show. Highlights are Reba, Chalk Dust, Frankie Says, Undermind, Limb By Limb, and YEM
, attached to 2024-02-21

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround PHISH, WEDNESDAY 02/21/2024 MOON PALACE Cancun, Quintana Roo, Mexico SET 1: Back on the Train: Standard. The Moma Dance: Standard. > Down with Disease[1] - Standard > If I Could: When this came on I wanted to skip it. These past few years it’s criminal how Trey plays this tune – just strumming his way through the solo and don’t get me started on the vibrato, makes me want to puke. But in this one he does actually take a nice solo and injects life into a song that I used to love. Everything's Right: Standard. Halfway to the Moon: Standard. Stash: Standard. Alaska: Standard. Destiny Unbound: Nicely jammed!! Ocelot: Standard. Julius: Standard. Sand: Standard. > Life Saving Gun: Standard. ENCORE: The Mango Song: Very touching that they played this for Ellie. RIP. Carini: Standard. Summary: I guess I don’t understand the concept of a warm up show. Would rate as a 2.5/5. Replay Value: None. Maybe Destiny? [1] Unfinished. Lyrics changed to "dancing on my beach." Down with Disease was unfinished and its lyrics were changed to "dancing on my beach." Trey dedicated The Mango Song to Ellie, a young fan who had recently passed away. SHOW RATING Ratings are currently offline. Overall: 3/5 (
, attached to 2024-02-24

Review by destinynubound

destinynubound Respectively, this show should be closer to a 4.5 than a 4 for a multitude of reasons. Not the least of which is the fact that both sets contain strong but patient jams. An 18-minute Simple seamlessly into Sanity before busting out a more than timely Chalk Dust Torture Reprise? It's been played only what 5 times? And hasn't been played since the pandemic? WOW!!! More than good placement following the previous night's exploring of Chalk Dust Torture but who saw this coming? And coming in the first set too? Many phans noticed that CDT wasn't finished but that's not unusual. Even if you did call this to happen in the show, I don't believe that you called it to happen in the midway into first set. This is another great example of the unexpected that this run produced. With a beautiful Wolfman's inspired by a full moon with teases of a Howling to come in the second set 2. A long and well-built Bathtub that transitioned cleanly into Cavern? This is just the first set... A well placed and fitting Howling under a fully moon to open the second set isn't anything to write home about but certainly added to the magic and crowd interaction of the night. Then three concurrent Jam's including a sandwich with No Man's > Ruby > Golden > Ruby? What a journey that was. The set not only maintains its structure with a well-executed Twist but closes out strong with an energetic Possum. The encore opening More was not transformative but not bad either. The real hero is this Jamed out 2001 > Slave to punctuate what will arguably be the best Phish Mexico run ever and is certainly the best Phish Mexico run to have happened yet. The fact they produced not just one but three shows worth of a 4.5 is absolutely phenomenal. I'm so grateful to have been present and witnessed this run down here. I've seen this band enough times to know this was a special run and this was an unexpectedly great show from that run. I don't care what anyone else says it's worthy of a 4.5 or being rounded up to it. Def not a 4.
, attached to 1991-03-01

Review by thelot

thelot Not the best SBD source for this show. The pitch is a hair slow for set 1 and set 2 is at chipmunk speed. Also, there’s a lot of annoying cuts throughout the first set. Sounds like a Cass/3 or so. Although there’s pitch issues it’s still listenable. The audio quality to start is horrendous. Possibly a loose cable? Wilson cuts out and starts back up about a minute in with much better sound. Really nice Sky. Page’s Coil solo fades out. Tape flip? The recording picks back up at the start of a decent Tweezer jam. Strong Groove to close set 1. Set 2 kicks off with Golgi/Landlady. The chipmunk speed of the tape made for entertaining versions of Reba, Llama, Jim and Possum. The band jams out on Whole Lotta Love again during Fish’s vac solo in Love You. Decent Bowie set closer. Oh Kee Pah>Suzy wrapped up the evening on a high note.
, attached to 2023-07-16

Review by Divided_Stash

Divided_Stash [b]Buried Alive:[/b] the best way to start a Phish show [b]Wilson:[/b] first one in a while with an extended middle section, pretty normal otherwise [b]NICU:[/b] standard [b]Bathtub Gin:[/b] great version that builds then breaks type 2, but stays high energy and finds its way to a peak and back into the song to end. Really good [b]Gumbo:[/b] nice Page clav before the usual piano ending [b] Limb By Limb:[/b] some problems with flubs, but the jam is solid [b]The Well:[/b] debut.This song fucks. It’s always fun to see the 1.0 oldheads get pissed and then realize its great and evil. Nothing notable yet here [b]Mountains In The Mist:[/b] I love this song so much. One of the best cooldown options for the second set, or in this case after The Evil Well [b]Halfway To The Moon:[/b] played well (haha get it?) [b]Split Open And Melt:[/b] (watch this) well, we still need more evil Phish (get it?), so SOAMelt is gonna close this first set. Very strange, spacey, exploratory, and a good example of what they’re going for with these 4.0 melts. [b]Mike’s Song:[/b] sick 1st jam and we go into [b]Carini: [/b]type 2 jam starts with Your Pet Cat teases and has the typical 2022-2023 Trey build and peak but instead of ending they break free again into more evil spacier territory. This section is really good. But it doesn’t last too long as Trey finds another peak, better this time, and he finds the route back into Carini to end it off [b]Weekapaug Groove:[/b] slight issue finding the tempo, but they do after a bit, and the jam gets funky immediately. Unusual ending but other than that pretty average version [b]Sand:[/b] another type 2 journey here, has a really nice Trey and Page section early on, Mike has some fun later as they get back to the Sand theme to finish [b]Reba[/b]: perhaps a hint of what’s to come in the encore? Composed parts are mostly played well and the jam is gorgeous as always [b]More:[/b] some people hate it, I think it’s a good closer [b]The Night The Lights Went Out In Georgia: [/b]let Fish cook [b]Hold Your Head Up: [/b]hilarious [b]You Enjoy Myself:[/b] first performance in Georgia since 2003. Quick encore rendition, but still fun and I live for bass+drums Very fun show to end the run in Alpharetta. The Well debut, along with the rest of the first set is great. Second set has some solid type 2 jamming in Carini and Sand. Encore is spectacular. This is a 8/10. Highlights are Gin, SOAMelt, Carini, Sand, Reba, TNTLWOIG>HYHU, and YEM
, attached to 2024-02-22

Review by TweezingSpaceRanger

TweezingSpaceRanger This is an awesome show. I can’t imagine how cool it would’ve been to be hearing this on the beach. Top show ever? No. Great listening experience the day after? Yes. That being said. It’s time to bring ratings back. I propose we are able to custom vote down to .1 increments just for the sake of how interesting and accurate it could get. I give this show a solid 4.2 in the context of 3-4.0 phish. In all of phish it might be a 3.8. As a live experience? Probably a 5.0
, attached to 2024-02-22

Review by mattybweston

mattybweston Well well well.... I guess they shook off those island vibes about midway through the first set. From BOAF onward it was faceplant into noise rock. And as an unjaded vet, I'm starting to feel my fandom at a crossroads. I've been around for multiple Phish eras - early goofball madness, compositional hose, cow funk, segue city, Y2K Big Cypress mountaintop, the denouement to the breakup, the return, peak city, bliss peak city, and dad rock bliss peak city. As the shows of 2023 piled up, it seemed like we might be shifting gears again. SOAM has been the canary in the coalmine - morphing into an all out atonal sonic assault that shakes your rib cage when seen live. The ethos of those SOAMs has been slipping into the longform jamming of many tunes later into 2023 - a guitar effects and synthesizer driven cacophony that can go on and on. On the forums it seems like many, but not all, are raving about this new style. Personally, it makes me feel...... old. In the future we may look back at this very show and say this was the moment that Phish went all in on noise rock. Portions BOAF, Axilla II and Oblivion as well as a long stretch of a 35 minute Wope are minutes upon minutes of reverse echo feedback, guitar and synth pitch divebombs, squeaks and squelches. It is undoubtedly gutsy and has a ton of adventure and energy behind it. I'd say it goes deep but that doesn't really do it justice. It goes subterranean. And somewhere down there my fandom gets a bit rattled. I've considered myself, and all of us, as dancing flies on the wall watching an intimate musical conversation happening -composition in real time. Dynamic interplay between band members who fire off quick melody lines, agree on a direction and take us all with them. The noise rock of 2023-2024 feels a different animal. Melody, the band's common conversational language, seems to have been sidelined for raw, naked noise and power. And with that the concept of a groove over which to have the conversation has dwindled. While these ever more common noise rock sections could knock the fillings out of my teeth, it comes at the expense of the downbeat cow funk awesomeness that has been a jamming through line since 1997. I sense the "Okay Boomer" of that last sentence (or paragraph) so let me say this - you should absolutely listen to this show in its entirety. Up through My Soul the band feels engaged with a 2022 kinda vibe but a bit lethargic. Then from BOAF onward they are a blowtorch turning sand to glass in a way they've been leaning into more and more. If I could rate this show (which we can't) with 1/10th star increments (which we've never been able to do) I'd venture a 4.4 would do it justice.
, attached to 2024-02-22

Review by YouEnjoyMyStash

YouEnjoyMyStash Was the 2nd set the best set of Phish ever? You decide. It sure felt like it down on the sand. Actually, from BoF on thru the end...I'll put that stretch up against any 2hr stretch of a show, any year. But what a ridiculous exercise, right? Its fun to compare, but a night like last night is a religious experience, beyond comparison The first set started off kind of disjointed to my ear. They started to gel in the Gumbo, and then from Birds on it was utter madness. That Axilla to end set 1.... It was absolute spaceship abduction. Trey lined us all up under the ufo hovercraft and sucked us all up. From the very opening notes of ASHITOS, it was clear they were going to destroy us. I can't believe the AWOH was 35 mins...time stopped for me, utter bliss danceparty. Oblivion brought the realness...Phish's climate justice anthem , so dark and surreal to hear it like that on the beach in MX. And then, the payoff...was it the hardest hitting Tweezer romp ever? it sure felt like it. It did not let up for a single moment. Reminded me of the 12/2/95 New Haven Tweezer in its length and intensity...Now I gotta go listen to both back to back to confirm which sub 16min Tweezer romps hardest.The transition back to the main theme was sooo smooth too. The Runaway Jim-Tube-Jim mashup was supreme danceparty Phish. Ridiculous crowd energy. Perfect way to close an epic set of music. And then for me, the perfect closer. An absolutely gorgeous Bug, and a top notch Reprise. Thank you Phish. Wow 4 star first set. 5 star second set. BOAF thru Reprise is all must hear Phish
, attached to 2024-02-22

Review by DownWithSteam

DownWithSteam I will go out on a limb and say this was the best Mexico show in recent memory, especially if you dig the deep jams. It really gets going with BOAF and Axilla at the end of the first set. But this show is all about the 2nd half. Strong jams in A wave of Hope and Tweezer, these things lifted off into the stratosphere and got pretty wild. Tube -> Jim -> Tube was a nice touch. and bug > tweezprize was a solid encore. Mexico shows are usually not shows we talk about and relisten to for years to come but i think some of these jams are worth revisiting. 2024 is going to kick ass I think. Rating for this show would be 4.25 for me
, attached to 2024-02-22

Review by phish123

phish123 I’m not writing a review about this show but about the ratings on phish.net. Can we please bring them back so that we can once again rate shows? It was one of the best and most helpful parts of this site, especially for fans looking for which shows have stood out over time. I understand the ratings are somewhat flawed due to bias but it is what it is. Even with that bias in place, shows are still generally given the ratings they deserve as it mostly evens out in the end. The truth is, the flaws with ratings have been in place from the beginning. We saw it in a more pronounced way after 12/31/23 but the alternative of not having any ratings at all is certainly not a better option. Please let us continue to rate shows even if it isn’t an exact science. I think it would also be helpful to give the option of rating shows a 3.5 or 4.5 instead of just 1-5. I think I speak for many of us when I say that we’d love to have the ratings back and the site has not felt the same without it. Thank you.
, attached to 2024-02-21

Review by mattybweston

mattybweston A songy, one setter of mostly Type 1 material in Mexico? If the past is prologue, this warmup show doesn't stand a chance if/when the ratings come back online. But no matter, just press play at Halfway To The Moon and you've got yourself a typical good/great Set 1 of Phish. Destiny is well executed, twin brothers Alaska and Ocelot bring the dancy blues breaks, and Sand>LSG heaps on the energetic bombast. The Mango encore is for Ellie is just one of those moments that glue us all together. 3.8 with the discounts for one set feels about right.
, attached to 2024-02-21

Review by destinynubound

destinynubound 2.5? This is an absolutely horrible rating of this show. This more than good DWD > If I Could with a solid Everything’s Right into a more than respectable quality run with Stash, Alaska, Destiny Ocelot, followed later by a fun Sand and punchy Life Saving Gun make this show worth more than the garbage rating this show was unjustifiably given. 3.8 out of 5.
, attached to 2023-07-19

Review by MasonIsDumb

MasonIsDumb I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still waiting. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still waiting. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still waiting. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still waiting. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still waiting. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still waiting. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still waiting. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still waiting. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still waiting. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still waiting. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still waiting. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still whet. I’m still waiting. . . . . . . .im still whet. .im still whet. . . . . . .im still whet. . . . . .im still whet.
, attached to 2024-02-21

Review by DownWithSteam

DownWithSteam A fun start to the Mexico run. They seem like they havent missed a beat since MSG. Disease, Halfway to the Moon and Life Saving gun were epic and deserve listens. One set shows can be tough to rank but in reality its 2 hrs plus of Phish so it should not be very hard. Cant rank anymore so ill give it here, this was a 3.6
You can still access archived Phish.net reviews


Phish.net

Phish.net is a non-commercial project run by Phish fans and for Phish fans under the auspices of the all-volunteer, non-profit Mockingbird Foundation.

This project serves to compile, preserve, and protect encyclopedic information about Phish and their music.

Credits | Terms Of Use | Legal | DMCA

© 1990-2024  The Mockingbird Foundation, Inc. | Hosted by Linode